...but did you know, two other Presidents were born in February? Do you know who they were?

  President's Day rarely falls on the actual birthday of any American president.

Four presidents - George Washington, William Henry Harrison, Abraham Lincoln and Ronald Reagan—were born in February.

Presidents Day, today, is celebrated on the third Monday of the month. However, it wasn't always. 

Presidents Day is celebrated on the third Monday in February, thanks to the 1968 Uniform Monday Holiday Act.

Presidents’ Days origin lies in the 1880s, when the birthday of Washington—commander of the Continental Army during the American Revolution and the first president of the United States—was first celebrated as a federal holiday. In 1968 Congress passed the Uniform Monday Holiday Bill, which moved a number of federal holidays to Mondays. The change was designed to schedule certain holidays so that workers had a number of long weekends throughout the year, however, many to this day opposethe idea and believe that those holidays should be celebrated on the dates they actually occurred.

During debate on the bill, it was proposed that Washington’s Birthday be renamed Presidents’ Day to honor the birthdays of both Washington (February 22) and Lincoln (February 12). 

Lincoln’s birthday was celebrated in many states, but it has never been an official federal holiday.

Following much discussion, Congress rejected the name change. After the bill went into effect in 1971, however, Presidents’ Day became the commonly accepted name, due in part to retailers’ use of that name to promote sales and the holiday’s proximity to Lincoln’s birthday.

At the Presidents Hall of Fame, every day is Presidents Day!


Following is a list of every Presidents Birthday:


Millard Fillmore – 1/7/1800

Richard Nixon – 1/9/1913

William McKinley – 1/29/1843

Franklin Roosevelt – 1/30/1882



Ronald Reagan – 2/6/1911

William Harrison – 2/9/1773

Abraham Lincoln – 2/12/1809

George Washington – 2/22/1732



Andrew Jackson – 3/15/1767

James Madison – 3/16/1751

Grover Cleveland – 3/18/1837

John Tyler – 3/29/1790



Thomas Jefferson – 4/13/1743

Benjamin Harrison – 4/20/1833

James Buchanan – 4/23/1791

Ulysses Grant – 4/27/1822

James Monroe – 4/28/1758



Harry Truman – 5/8/1884

John Kennedy – 5/29/1917



George H.W. Bush – 6/12/1924

Donald Trump – 6/14/1946



Calvin Coolidge – 7/4/1872

George W. Bush – 7/6/1946

John Q. Adams – 7/11/1767

Gerald Ford – 7/14/1913



Barack Obama – 8/4/1961

Herbert Hoover – 8/10/1874

William Clinton – 8/19/1946

Lyndon Johnson – 8/27/1908



William Taft – 9/15/1857



Jimmy Carter – 10/1/1924

Rutherford Hayes – 10/4/1822

Chester Arthur – 10/5/1829

Dwight Eisenhower – 10/14/1890

Theodore Roosevelt – 10/27/1858

John Adams – 10/30/1735



James Polk – 11/2/1795

Warren Harding – 11/2/1865

James Garfield – 11/19/1831

Franklin Pierce – 11/23/1804

Zachary Taylor – 11/24/1784



Martin Van Buren – 12/5/1782

Woodrow Wilson – 12/28/1856

Andrew Johnson – 12/29/1808








We are rebuilding our website, it's going to be big, really big. You're going to love it...